DISCOVER MOHAMED AYACHI AJROUDI’S MANY COMMITMENTS

In Focus

About Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi

As a result of his fluency in four languages and intimate familiarity with two cultures, Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi, an unobtrusive yet ubiquitous force in the world of international affairs for more than a quarter of a century, has become an important link between the East and West. An innovative engineer and negotiator, he is a key player in a globally successful French industry.

A lifetime of entrepreneurship

 

Born in 1951 to a family of soldiers in Gabès, a city in southern Tunisia, young Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi studied in France before joining the Merchant Navy in Saint-Malo in 1967.

He reached the rank of lieutenant before furthering his education at ESI Lille. He graduated from the school in 1978 with a degree in engineering, specializing in hydraulics.

It wasn’t long before his ever-present entrepreneurial spirit made its debut. Hired by ISEE, he later bought this Pas de Calais company in 1980 and created his first company, AMIS. These two companies, which quickly rose to international renown for tunnel boring machines and other underground construction equipment (especially with regard to metro tunnels in Lille and Caracas, Venezuela), specialize in petroleum and mechanical engineering.

Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi further cemented his growing reputation with the invention of the Portube, an innovation which earned him the LANVAR prize. For its manufacturing and marketing, he created a new company under the same name. The Portube is an underground capillary irrigation system that supplants aerial watering. This device utilizes water in a highly economical manner and is acclaimed worldwide in regions which have arid climates.

This is particularly true in Saudi Arabia where the Portube is used in the gardens of the royal palace, as well as in airports, various public facilities and farms.

The businessman became a resident of Saudi Arabia in 1985 and became a specialist in investments and industrial and commercial trade. Notably, he negotiated a contract worth more than $15 billion in the water supply and sanitation sector.

CNIM and Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi: a strategic partnership

Founded in France in 1856, the CNIM Group (Constructions Industrielles de la Méditerranée) is a leading international supplier of industrial equipment for the energy, transportation, defense, waste treatment and health sectors.

With a network of more than 250 plants worldwide, particularly in Europe and the Gulf States, the CNIM Group is particularly well-known for its energy recovery solutions for household and biomass waste.

As advisor to the Chairman of the Executive Board and as the current Chairman of CNIM Middle East and CNIM Saudi, Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi plays a key role in the CNIM Group’s overall success.

This is one of the activities he is most proud of because its effects are conclusive and positive: recovering energy from one million tons of waste provides 100 megawatts of energy and is equivalent to 250,000 tons of fuel, given 1 m3 of oil yields 4KW.

Recognized expert, activist and philanthropist

Thanks to the many successes that have strengthened his position over the years, Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi has the power and know-how to use his unique Eastern and Western culture to found and take control of companies around the world, such as Aquatraitements Energy Services, Razin Contracting, Sogetram and Ferrara Ltd.

He devotes most of his investments to his preferred sectors: transportation, water treatment and distribution, waste recovery and recycling…

His negotiating skills afford him a place among the world’s greatest political and economic leaders. His expertise is recognized by his peers in both the West and Arab world.

His activism is not limited to the business world; in 2013, he acquired the television channel Al Janoubiya and founded a political party in his home country, Tunisia.

With that being said, his political movement will not have a candidate in any future parliamentary elections. Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi prefers to clarify matters by stating that his fight is more economic and social than strictly political.

Driven to preserve the environment and fight against all pollution, he is actively involved with the Defense Foundation for the Quality of Life, and he supports actions to stem desertification in Africa and the Middle East.

Découvrez les engagements de Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi

A la Une

À propos de Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi

Discret et omniprésent dans l’univers des affaires internationales depuis plus d’un quart de siècle, Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi incarne, par sa double culture et sa maîtrise de quatre langues, un trait d’union entre Orient et Occident. Ingénieur novateur, négociateur, il est l’un des acteurs clés d’une industrie française performante d’envergure mondiale.

Un parcours marqué par le virus de l’entrepreneuriat

 

Né à Gabès dans le Sud tunisien en 1951, d’une lignée de militaires, le jeune Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi étudie en France et intègre la Marine marchande à Saint-Malo en 1967.

Il atteint le grade de lieutenant avant de poursuivre ses études à l’ESI de Lille où il décroche en 1978 son diplôme d’ingénieur, spécialisé en hydraulique.

Le virus de l’entrepreneuriat ne tarde pas à se manifester, le jeune homme ne s’en défera jamais. Recruté par ISEE, il rachète cette société du Pas-de-Calais en 1980 puis crée AMIS, sa première entreprise. Activité pétrolière et ingénierie mécanique sont les spécialités de ces deux entités, qui jouissent très vite d’une renommée internationale en matière de tunneliers et autres engins de chantiers souterrains (notamment pour les métros de Lille et de Caracas au Venezuela).

La réputation de Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi s’affirme encore avec l’invention du Portube qui lui vaut l’attribution du prix Lanvar. Pour sa fabrication et sa commercialisation, il crée une nouvelle société éponyme. Le Portube est un système souterrain d’irrigation par capillarité qui supplante l’arrosage aérien. Très économe en eau, ce dispositif est plébiscité dans les régions du monde au climat aride.

C’est en particulier le cas en Arabie Saoudite où le Portube équipe les jardins du palais royal mais aussi des aéroports, diverses installations publiques ainsi que des exploitations agricoles.

L’homme d’affaires devient résident de l’Arabie Saoudite en 1985 et acquiert le statut de spécialiste des investissements et des échanges industriels et commerciaux. Il y négocie notamment un contrat qui dépasse les 15 milliards de dollars dans les secteurs de la distribution d’eau et de l’assainissement.

CNIM : le partenaire stratégique de Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi

Créé en France en 1856, le groupe CNIM (Constructions Industrielles de la Méditerranée) est un acteur international leader sur les équipements industriels dans les secteurs de l’énergie, du transport, du traitement des déchets, de la santé et de la défense.

Il est particulièrement reconnu pour ses solutions de valorisation énergétique des déchets de biomasse et ménagers, via un réseau de plus de 250 usines dans le monde, notamment en Europe et dans les pays du Golfe.

Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi joue un rôle dans la réussite du groupe CNIM, en tant que conseiller du président du directoire et comme président en titre de CNIM Middle East et CNIM Saudi.

C’est l’une des activités dont il est le plus fier, tant ses effets sont concluants : la valorisation d’un million de tonne de déchets donne 100 Mega Watts et équivaut à 250 000 tonnes de fuel en sachant que 4KW donnent 1 m3 d’eau.

Expert reconnu, homme engagé et philanthrope

Grâce à ses succès qui renforcent sa position au fil des années, l’homme d’affaires Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi sait mettre à profit sa double culture orientale et occidentale pour fonder ou reprendre de nombreuses entreprises à travers le monde, telles que Aquatraitements Énergies Services, Razin Contracting, Sogetram ou encore Ferrara Ltd.

Il consacre la majeure partie de ses investissements à ses secteurs favoris : le transport, le traitement de l’eau et sa distribution, la valorisation et le recyclage des déchets…

Ses compétences en négociation lui permettent de se faire une place de choix auprès des grands de ce monde, qu’il s’agisse de dirigeants politiques ou de responsables économiques. En Occident comme dans le Monde Arabe, son expertise est reconnue par ses pairs.

Ses engagements ne se limitent pas pour autant au monde des affaires. En 2013, il acquiert la chaîne de télévision Al Janoubiya et fonde un parti politique dans son pays d’origine, la Tunisie.

Le mouvement se retirera cependant de la compétition aux élections législatives qui suivront. Mohamed Ayachi Ajroudi préfère ainsi clarifier la situation en précisant que son combat se situe davantage sur le plan économique et social que strictement politique.

Convaincu par les impératifs de préservation de l’environnement et de lutte contre toutes les pollutions, il est activement engagé auprès de la Fondation de la Défense pour la Qualité de la Vie, et soutient les actions visant à endiguer la progression du désert sur le continent africain et au Moyen Orient.